Daily Archives: February 15, 2010

Outside

Tobias waited outside with a cigarette, glancing above the headlines of the Juneau Empire: “Zombie Casualties Record Low.” The politicians are getting better at hiding the bodies. At least the Dr. Z kidnapping story has finally gotten off the front page. The Rapturists have the media in their back pockets. Who even knows if that “Micah” is right about this Sarah girl being  alive? They’d have no reason to keep her in there, as far as Tobias could figure. The old Sealaska building was originally a heritage and research center for the region’s native peoples. When the outbreak occurred, the big wigs all ended up getting eaten or turned. Like many other buildings in the area, squatters began taking the building as their own. Though it should have belonged to the native tribes by principle, Reverend Taddeo and his church provided a good amount of money to the mayor and the police. Many of the people inside were converted and given a place to live. Others were kicked from the premises. Some rumors say that a few people just vanished, but nobody knows that for sure. On the outside, the building looks like a normal place of business and worship. Go deeper into the belly and that’s another story. The place is a fortress unless you have an in with the Rapturists. And Tobias’s “in” was just heading around the corner with her groceries.

“Hi, Vera. Can I help you carry those in?” Vera pulled her bag away. Tobias squeezed her arm hard. “I don’t want to make a scene, Vera. I just came to see what became of a friend.”

“Shit, Tobey! You can’t scare people like that!”

“Sorry,” he sniffed, throwing his cig into the gutter. “It’s the detective schtick. I’ve gotten good as skulking around.” He released is grip but stared her down. “I need your help.”

“With what?”

He shifted his gaze to the Rapturist building. “I need to get inside.”

“Why?” Vera moved the bag to her other arm to put something between her and Tobias. “What’s going on, Tobey?”

“I should be asking you the same thing. Heard you wanted to go to Guadeloupe of all places, but I find you closer than I think.”

“I wanted to go somewhere safe. Theo figured we could raise a family in that hovel, but how can we with all of that crime and zombies.”

“Nowhere’s safe from crime, Vera. And especially not zombies. You think the Rapturists have God’s protection from the undead or something?”

“What if they do?”

“Then I’d like to sign up. Think you can get me in?”

Vera gave him the stinkeye. “I thought you’d be mad after what I did to Theo.”

“I don’t follow the “bros before hos” policy, Ver. It’s a pretty archaic custom. You’re my friend, too. So…” he gives his sweetest smile. “Can you help a friend out?”

Vera shifts her bag back to her other arm. “Sure. Let’s see what we can do.”

Leave a comment

Filed under FEATHERTON II, Flash Fiction