Insomnia

“Whoa! What the?” Seamus convulses in surprise, flying back into the kitchen counter. A hundred dishes rattle in the cabinets. “Dizzie? Is that you?”

“No.”

“Whoa!” Seamus stumbles toward the closest light switch, turning on the energy saving bulbs hanging over the kitchen’s island. It blinds them both.

“Who…?”

“I’m Dizzie’s… friend.”

Seamus puzzles over her awkward pause, then realizes he iss standing around in his boxers. “I’m sorry!” He sprints upstairs on all fours, grabbing the first pair of pants and t-shirt he can find on the floor.

His heart is pounding in his chest and he is sweating. Quietly, he tiptoes back down the stairs and tries to slow his heartbeat down. The girl is pale with long dark hair. She reminds Seamus of that creepy girl from The Ring. “I’m… sorry. I was… out. I didn’t know Dizzie had a friend coming over.”

“It’s my fault,” she whispers. “I’m sorry, did I wake you?”

“No,” Seamus breathes. “You were like a ghost. I mean, I was already awake… what are you doing up? It’s like two in the morning.”

“I don’t sleep.”

“You don’t…? What are you, a vampire?”

“I don’t sleep much I meant. You must be Dizzie’s little brother.”

“Seamus. I know, I know. Weird name.”

“Like Seamus Heaney?”

“Huh?”

“Sorry,” the girl says. “I read a lot.”

“No. It’s fine. I’m just used to getting Seamus Finnigan. Anything other than that is golden.” Seamus pauses for a moment. “So, why can’t you sleep?”

She leans her elbows on the counter. “I don’t know. I just think about things a lot.”

“Yeah. Me too. I can’t seem to turn my brain off. I’m always thinking about all sorts of stuff like whether there’s a God and if there’s some creeper standing outside my house and what the best way to go to sleep is. I heard that you’re supposed to get up and walk around if you can’t sleep after an hour, so I usually do that and heat up some warm milk.”

The girl looks at him blankly.

“That’s not what you think about,” Seamus says to himself.

She shakes her head. Seamus ducks into the fridge and pulls out some milk. “I was gonna heat some up. We have hot cocoa too if you want to stir some in.”

“I’m fine.”

“You sure? It’s the good stuff. The cocoa, I mean. The milk just comes from a cow. But I don’t know. She could have been a spectacular cow.”

She stares at him again. Seamus shuts his mouth.

“Sure. I’ll have some.”

Seamus gestures to the stools propped up at the island. “Grab a chair.” He pours some milk in, then some powder, stirs, and repeats this several times.

“Why are you doing that?”

“It’s the best way to mix it together.”

“Oh. I never thought about that.” She leans onto her elbows. “So you were trying to sleep until now?”

“Yeah. Conan O’Brien just ended.”

“So, you weren’t trying to sleep.”

“Sure I was. I was just watching Conan while I was trying to sleep.”

“But… never mind.”

“I guess vampires sleep during the day, though.” Seamus said while popping the hot cocoa into the microwave.

“Huh?”

“I said you don’t sleep ’cause you’re a vampire. Vampires sleep during the day.”

“That was, like, twenty minutes ago.” She shook her head. “Your mind really does wander, doesn’t it?”

Seamus chuckles. “Yeah, I get that way when I’m tired sometimes. Here you go.” He pops open the microwave and delivers her the drink.

“Thanks,” she blows on it. He heats up his milk and watches her blow and sip at her hot cocoa. Her black hair is hanging over her face. He walks over to her and they drink in silence, enjoying the aroma and the feeling of the steam over their eyes.

“Thanks, Seamus.”

“I’ll take care of that.” He grabs the cup from her and washes it out in the sink with a cold shower of water. “It was nice to meet you, but, uh… I should get to bed for real this time.”

“Have a good night.”

“You too.”

“Shit!” Seamus cussed. He forgot to ask what her name was. Maybe she really was a ghost haunting the place. But why did that thought turn him on?

Leave a comment

Filed under Novel, Session XIX

Leave a Reply

