Strangers

I have this friend who believes that we always meet the same people in every lifetime. So the relationships we’ve had in our past lives keep repeating over and over again. Now, I think she’s full of shit. The way I see it, every stranger we meet could potentially be the beginning of a relationship. It’s only that one stranger in a million that becomes a best friend or a lover.

But this story isn’t about my friends bullshit, or even my bullshit (though I guess I’m the one telling the story so it’s a given). This is about the person I fell madly in love with for about a week and a half.

I met Chia Hue in the fish section of the market. I was staring at a trout, trying to figure out if I need to skin it or how to cut its head off or what. And then, as if reading my mind, she said:

“Are you going to eat the head?”

“Uh, no. I didn’t think you were supposed to. Are you?”

“Oh, the head’s the best part! That’s where all the good meat is!”

So, we got to talking about fish, though I admit this is not the most romantic scene, talking in the fish aisle, hovering over their bulbous dead eyes. But it worked, at least for us.

Now, this is the part where I wish I could say that I invited her over for dinner. But Chia Hue was always the more assertive one in the relationship. She invited me over and we had fish together. We cooked together and talked while we did. I stayed the next few nights and we had the most incredible conversations. And the most incredible sex, too.

But I was still the uncertain one in the relationship. Soon after, Chia Hue told me that she loved me. And I… I just couldn’t decide.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

