Jack and Leigh Ann

Jack and Leigh Ann are two people of the opposite sex. Jack is walking on the sidewalk. Leigh Ann is sitting on a bench.

“Hey!” Leigh Ann calls out to Jack. “Why are you walking?”

“It’s what I’ve always done,” Jack says, pacing around the bench. “Why are you sitting?”

“I’ve always sat,” she explains. “Would you like to meet my family?” Her mother and sister smile and wave. Leigh Ann’s father isn’t there; he is a walker, so sometimes he walks by.

“No time,” says Jack, turning his eyes toward the horizon. “It was nice to meet you.”

“Wait!” Leigh Ann says. Jack keeps walking. Leigh Ann struggles out of the bench and begins to walk after him. “Wait up!”

Leigh Ann’s mother shakes her head. It is just like how she met her husband. Leigh Ann’s mother has happy and sad memories of her husband.

Leigh Ann catches up with Jack. Jack glances at Leigh Ann. He slows down for her.

“What’s your name?” he asks.

“Leigh Ann.”

“Mine’s Jack.”

Jack and Leigh Ann walk for years. Sometimes Jack says ” left.” Sometimes Leigh Ann says “right.” They usually go left.

One time, they stop by Leigh Ann’s family and say hello.

“You have my blessing!” Leigh Ann’s mother yells as they walk past.

Jack and Leigh Ann come to a fork in the road.

“Let’s go left!” Jack exclaims.

“I’d like to go right,” Leigh Ann says.

“That’s a stupid idea. You go right, then. See if I care!”

Jack goes left. Leigh Ann goes right. Jack is angry. Leigh Ann is sad.

Jack grows tired and lonely. He misses having Leigh Ann to talk to. Jack sits down.

Leigh Ann keeps walking.

6 Comments

Filed under FEATHERTON III, Flash Fiction

6 responses to “Jack and Leigh Ann

  1. Jared

    I did this once. Except I used a fern as a literary device. I suggest if you ever do this, don’t submit it to 6S as it will be declined. They were never meant to be, this Jack and Leigh Ann, Montague and Capulet. Leigh Ann was a sitter and Jack a walker, and Jack was much too stubborn-headed to ever consider Leigh Ann’s ideas worthy of following.

  2. shortnmorose

    Love the metaphor of walking and sitting and I especially love that then Leigh Ann decided to keep walking. I wouldn’t change a thing.

    Side note: I love your new tag cloud! And I love how big zombies is. Bad grammar in that last sentence. is!

  3. I was wondering if they would suck on a chili dog outside the Tastee Freeze. But then it became real.

    “Why are you walking?”

    “It’s what I’ve always done,”

    Very nice. It reminds me of Grimm tales.

    Cheers.

  4. Such a great piece. Completely simple and minimalist and powerful. Every word has it’s purpose and every line is drenched with emotion. Me likey!

    I think a transition from Leigh Ann being introduced (‘sitting there’) to her family being there all of a sudden is needed. Though by the end of the piece I understood it is how it flows, I think easing the reader in would be nice.

  5. soulinmyfist

    I found this to be an interesting piece, but I don’t understand what the walking and sitting represent. Just the two coming from different backgrounds, different ways of living? But then they switch in the end and she walks while he sits. I guess the overall message isn’t clear to me, what are you trying to say with this piece?

  6. I like the symbolic idea of Leigh Ann following with what Jack wants until Leigh Ann decides it’s not the path that she’s going any more.

    I imagine that you will eventually replace the direct descriptors, “Jack is angry. Leigh Ann is sad. Jack grows tired and lonely,” with events and actions. This would make an excellent skeleton for the fleshed out climax event in which they part ways.

    I also like the hint that Leigh Ann chased after a man just as her mother did, because it’s believable that her idea of a relationship models after her parents’.

Leave a Reply

