We were Werewolves

We headed home. And although one thought raced through our minds, we barely spoke. “We were werewolves,” the air seemed to say, quivering as it did. “We were motherfucking werewolves.” We’d only been gone three nights, but somehow the town’s population seemed much smaller than it was.
Time went on and we saw less and less of Roger and Fish, until eventually they became just two more meatbags waiting for death. It happens sometimes. Werewolves just quit being werewolves like part-timers in department stores that don’t give two-weeks’ notice before leaving. I heard that Fish got married, had four kids, and is now working at a company that makes bathtoys for children.
Roger, who would always snack on squirrels and rabbits, saying “Dog can’t live off man alone!” now works at a pet store selling pet food. Some of the gerbils go missing sometimes but I have a hard time believing he’s eating them.
Darwin stayed a werewolf. He terrorized the county with me, and although it was deeply disturbing, he continued his habit of gutting his victims and hanging up the remains. Last week, he was on an almost-empty train and got hungry. Just ahead of him, two men were sleeping. Darwin, who had always done his best to make sure his victims didn’t die until he let them, didn’t see that the other
passenger had a silver-cast knife. He was stabbed in the throat. He died almost instantly.
Although I hadn’t seen him in more than ten years, I know I’ll miss getting high and listening to “Teenage Wasteland” while eating campers and howling  at the moon.
I don’t know anyone who has friends like we did when we were werewolves. Does anyone?
6 Comments

Filed under FEATHERTON II, Flash Fiction

6 responses to “We were Werewolves

  1. awesomepie

    You may be wondering why I tagged this one an “homage.” Well, watch the end of Stand by Me and you’ll understand.

  2. soulinmyfist

    Fascinating story. Random. Werewolves are not a everyday thing I tend to think about, so it’s a good break from reality.

    Interesting “fact” that came out in this is that werewolves can stop being werewolves? Now this, I did not know. How does that work? I think you could expand this a bit and explain. Like, they just choose to stop being werewolves and it happens? Do they go through some type of ritual? Or do they still turn into werewolves at night but restrain themselves from terrorizing anyone/thing?

    I like how you make it seem like they’re so normal. Like a couple of the guys grew up and moved on, that it’s more about childhood and coming of age into adulthood than “werewolfing.”

    Maybe you could also touch on what happened during those three days while they were young? As you move quickly away from that and into what happens later in their lives. Or, that of course could be another story…

  3. vicky_luu

    i like this line: until eventually they became just two more meatbags waiting for death.

    interesting how you chose to make them no longer werewolves. it started to get me thinking about that concept. what if people were cured of being zombies/werewolves? then what? how do you live life after knowing you’ve eaten…people. especially those you may have cared deeply about.

    i like this little departure from your zombie stuff, but it still ties into that whole theme. my only criticism, would be to experiment with the voice in your stories. careful not to let all your characters start to sound the same, or situations sound the same. (i have this problem all the time, and it’s not bad, as edren would say, but this would be a good space to see if we can experiment even further with not only story ideas but our styles.)

  4. edrensumagaysay

    Interesting world you’re creating. I am starting to wonder if you’re developing some sort of world with this. A world of zombies, werewolves, and other kinds of fantastical creatures. But it has a a modern feel to it. Kind of the books we were talking about on the ride to Long Beach.

    I like that. Makes me want to buy the core books for the upcoming RPG.

    I like writing where, without the writer having to write it, I can imagine the world where the story takes place. That, to me, is the challenge and resulting magic of writers who write in this genre.

    I think you’ve done it. Not only in this piece, but in your pieces about the zombies, too.

    The only suggestion I can make is on your future writings as a whole that fall into this genre writing of yours. To, maybe connect the worlds, add more things like vampires or elves (or not) and incorporate the modern world (the way you have) more. More pieces. More characters.

    And for that, then, to add the the traditional through line story of character, conflict, resolution.

    I want to read the middle of the story, if that makes any sense.

  5. taniappleseed

    The werewolf piece is a great metaphor for coming of age/bachelor lifestyle in a really compelling and “Manly way.” (did I just use the words “Manly” to describe literature?) lol. Felt like this was a great start to a strong story and like Edren said, I would also like to read the “middle of the story.” you ended your post before I got to hear about the protagonists story. would love to hear more as you dive into that narrative! keep it up. love it.

  6. awesomepie

    Thanks for your comments. I wasn’t sure how this one would be received, especially given that Vicky (I think it was Vicky. Well, somebody…) told me once that “At least you’re not writing about vampires and werewolves.” I did try to put a spin on it, like the being “modern” thing that Edren mentioned. It seems that worked, according to your responses.

    I thought it was funny that Edren mentioned the RPG books. I was probably thinking about werewolves because I just got back from Pennsylvania and some of my friends were working on a Werewolf campaign. Haven’t role-played in ages, so I guess it started getting into my head when they were talking about it. Got to be honest, though, I was a little afraid when I heard Edren saying to make everything interconnected in this kind of supernatural horror world. It’s ambitious and it’s not what I was planning when I started writing a trilogy of zombie stories just for the Hell of it… at the same time, I can see it working if I go at it a certain angle. I don’t want to take my free-writing Fridays away, though, so I’m going to give it some thought before I decide.

    Thanks again, everyone.

    ~ Seamus K.

Leave a Reply

